Skip to main content
09-01-06

Tommyknocker Butt Head Beer Review

09-01-06It is getting close to fall and that means Bock season. Here in Lubbock we had a dip in temperatures over the past week from the high 90s to the high 80s to low 90s, and yes, you can feel the difference here. So I went down to the six pack store and decided I wanted something drinkable and had a lot of flavor. I saw Tommyknockers Butt Head Dopple Bock and grabbed it. First off, I’m a big fan of Bocks, Dopple Bocks, and the one Triple Bock I had I also enjoyed. Secondly, the name of the beer is Butt Head. Why wouldn’t I buy it?

09-01-02When I got home I chilled it down in the fridge overnight and I had it last night after dinner. Upon opening a sweet caramel smell leaked out all over. It was wonderful. After closer inspection, there was a bit of alcohol on the nose behind all of that sweet malt.

It pours a brown to ruby color and had a brownish head with it as well. I usually expect a bock to be crystal clear, being that lagers generally are, but this was slightly hazy. There was also some sediment which I can only assume was some yeast. Being a homebrewer that doesn’t bother me at all, but you generally don’t see sediment on a commercially brewed lager.

09-01-04On my first taste I noticed the malt all over the place. It was sweet, with a slight hop flavor on the back end, but not much. As a bock should be, it was very crisp and had those lovely bubble on the front of the tongue.  As the beer warms up the heat in it becomes more and more noticeable, but that’s not a bad thing. It left a pleasant aftertaste in my mouth that made me want more.

The mouthfeel was a bit thick, almost creamy. It was very smooth and went down easily. For beer that comes in at 8.2% ABV I would expect it to be a bit thicker in the mouthfeel. But man, did I enjoy this beer. It was super drinkable and just a wonderful addition to my taste buds.

A few other notes I jotted down. There is a lot of heat on this, so you really can’t drink too many of them. There is a nice layer of head that last through the whole drink. I don’t know why but I like that quality in a beer. The sediment I talked about earilier was a bit strange. Strange enough to have me comment about it twice. And my final note is that this beer gets more and more enjoyable as it warms up. I would suggest getting a sixer of this if you have the chance. I think most would enjoy it.

09-01-05

(more…)

08-13-07

Troegs Brewing Company Troegenator Double Bock Beer Review

08-13-07I’ve been in Texas for a month now and I am enjoy a new group of beers. I have access to a lot of Colorado brews and west coast brews as well. I do long for a few beers from home, one of them is Troegenator Double Bock from Troegs Brewing Company. Troegenator is one of their year round brews and it happens to be one of my favorites. Here is what Troegs has to say about their beer:

“The Troegenator Double Bock, is a dark, strong lager (8.2% abv).  It pours into a glass with a bronze to brown color, fluffy white head and bready malt aroma. The Troegenator leaves a rich, warming feeling and subtle spicy flavors. The style, Double Bock, dates back a century or so ago.

During periods of fasting without solid foods, the Monastic brewers relied on the double bock;a stronger, richer beer to fulfill their basic nutritional needs. Known to them as “liquid bread”,a double bock has a strong malt aroma and chewy rich body.  Traditionally these brewers ended the name of their double bock with the suffix “ator”, ex. Celabrator, Illuminator,Subliminator…..   In the spirit of the tradition we give you the Troegenator to provide warmth and richness through the early spring months. A double bock of epic proportions, beware,the Troegenator is deceiving smooth and delicious.”

08-13-06The first two sentences sum up this beer perfectly and yes it does rock in at 8.2% abv. When you pour it you are immediately hit with a nice malty caramel smell. If it is a bit warmed up there is a small amount of alcohol on there as well. It leave a whitish head that gave excellent lacing to my glass.

The first taste is malt with a small bit of hops on the backend. There is a little desernable spice to it as well. The alochol flavor is there, more when you get to the halfway point through the glass though. My favorite part is the bubbles on the front of the tounge with all of the wonderful flavors mixing. The after taste is very clean and leaves you wanting more. In particular I like to drink this right around the first frost, say Halloween. The high ABV is perfect for that type of weather and so is a malty beer. I’m not entirely sure why I am posting about it in August, but I have a craving for one. I highly suggest this beer if you have the privelage of trying it. Click the read more link following this for more pictures. (more…)

Shiner Bock Beer Review

I’m going to be moving to Texas this summer and I figured I should try some of the local brew to get an idea of how much homebrewing I will be needing to do. After a bit of research I found that Shiner Bock is the biggest beer down in Texas. With a little help, I was able to get a case of the stuff to give it a proper try.

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting too much. Usually the most mass produced beer in any area tends to be terrible compared to more microbrews. Shiner Bock also comes in twist offs, which didn’t give me a lot of confidence either.

I opened it up and poured it into my glass. It pours a reddish copper with great clarity (as expected in a lager) and a small head. Bocks generally are a bit undercarboninated so I wasn’t super concerned about that. Shiner Bock didn’t have too much of a smell either, it was mainly all malt (as expected with a bock).

The taste was much beer than the smell or look. It was full of malty sweetness that stayed on the tounge for a bit. I didn’t get anything in the hop field when I tried it. My biggest problem was that it was really watered down compared to a typical bock. Shiner Bock came in at 4.4% ABV where a traditional bock generally starts at 6% and goes up from there. If this is the best of Texas, I’m going to be doing a lot of homebrewing. (more…)