Skip to main content
08-13-07

Troegs Brewing Company Troegenator Double Bock Beer Review

08-13-07I’ve been in Texas for a month now and I am enjoy a new group of beers. I have access to a lot of Colorado brews and west coast brews as well. I do long for a few beers from home, one of them is Troegenator Double Bock from Troegs Brewing Company. Troegenator is one of their year round brews and it happens to be one of my favorites. Here is what Troegs has to say about their beer:

“The Troegenator Double Bock, is a dark, strong lager (8.2% abv).  It pours into a glass with a bronze to brown color, fluffy white head and bready malt aroma. The Troegenator leaves a rich, warming feeling and subtle spicy flavors. The style, Double Bock, dates back a century or so ago.

During periods of fasting without solid foods, the Monastic brewers relied on the double bock;a stronger, richer beer to fulfill their basic nutritional needs. Known to them as “liquid bread”,a double bock has a strong malt aroma and chewy rich body.  Traditionally these brewers ended the name of their double bock with the suffix “ator”, ex. Celabrator, Illuminator,Subliminator…..   In the spirit of the tradition we give you the Troegenator to provide warmth and richness through the early spring months. A double bock of epic proportions, beware,the Troegenator is deceiving smooth and delicious.”

08-13-06The first two sentences sum up this beer perfectly and yes it does rock in at 8.2% abv. When you pour it you are immediately hit with a nice malty caramel smell. If it is a bit warmed up there is a small amount of alcohol on there as well. It leave a whitish head that gave excellent lacing to my glass.

The first taste is malt with a small bit of hops on the backend. There is a little desernable spice to it as well. The alochol flavor is there, more when you get to the halfway point through the glass though. My favorite part is the bubbles on the front of the tounge with all of the wonderful flavors mixing. The after taste is very clean and leaves you wanting more. In particular I like to drink this right around the first frost, say Halloween. The high ABV is perfect for that type of weather and so is a malty beer. I’m not entirely sure why I am posting about it in August, but I have a craving for one. I highly suggest this beer if you have the privelage of trying it. Click the read more link following this for more pictures. (more…)

09-06-25-02

Rouge Brutal Bitter Beer Review

09-06-25-02I’m a big fan of Rogue Ales. So much of a fan in fact that my future wife and I are toasting with a Shakespear Stout this Saturday at our wedding. I love the Dead Guy Ale and have tried to get as many of their beers under my belt as I can. One of the “normal” onese that has always eluded me was the Brutal Bitter. But alas, finally, I got a chance to try it. Here’s what the brewery has to say,

Tasting Notes:
An Imperial bitter with exotic traditional floor malts, citrusy, hoppy flavor, stupendous hop aroma.
6 Ingredients:

Malts:
100% Floor-malted Maris Otter, Cara Vienna, Cara Wheat.
Hops:
Crystal.
Yeast & Water:
Rogue’s Pacman Yeast & Free Range Coastal Water.
Specs:
15º PLATO
59 IBU
76.1 AA
14.2º Lovibond

09-06-25-03Upon popping the top you are hit with hops, big shocker. It pours a nice hazy brown and had a nice lasting head with great lacing. The nose with hops, hops, hops, with a little malt mixed in there. Tasting is a kick in the mouth. I know I;ve been doing a lot of IPAs for the past little bit, but this thing was the strongest hops I’ve expreinced yet. After a few sips you actaully get some flavor as you adjust to the hops.

It had a decent malt backbone, but the hops were just overpowering. If you read this blog you should know by now that I am all about a balanced beer. This beer isn’t meant to be, but that is what threw it off for me. This is probably the first Rogue beer that I will not be buying again. If you like hops, you will like this beer. It was just a bit too unbalanced for me to enjoy fully. (more…)

09-05-28-03

Magic Hat Brewing Company Hi.P.A Beer Review

09-05-28-03Magic Hat Brewing Company has continued to produce some new beers. I recently saw their spring seasonal at the the six pack store, and I was in the mood for something hoppy, so I grabbed it. The bottle looks pretty funky, like something out of the 60’s. Then again, most of Magic Hat’s stuff looks a little on the funky side.

The beer comes in at 5.8% ABV and 45 IBUs. I opened the beer and eagerly awaited the inside the cap message. My first beer said, “break the cage of the digital age.” I always enjoy a beer that has a message inside the cap. Particularly when it is something interesting and not just a list of their awards (Sam Adams).  Hi.P.A pours a cloudy orange color and has a great aroma. It smells almost like raw hops are in it. I don’t know if I got a fresh bottle or not, but it really suprised me. It had a nice head that lasted through the whole beer and had great lacing.

09-05-28-04On the first taste I caught some nice sweet malt with some hops. The hop aroma is much stronger then the actual hop flavor, which could be a good or bad thing depending on what you are looking for. There is  a nice orangy zesty flavor in there. Overal nice and citerousy with good malt to back it up.

I think this is a pretty typical IPA. The hops are there but not overpowering and the smells are great. I might of actually enjoyed the smell more then the actual beer. Not that it is a bad beer, but it isn’t that different from any good IPA. If I saw this again at the six pack store I would probably look around a bit to see if there was anything else I didn’t try yet. I was good, but not great, but if you like IPA this would be right up your alley. (more…)