Skip to main content
10-05-05

Tommyknocker Imperial Nut Brown Ale Beer Review

10-05-04I don’t know if I have ever reviewed a nut brown ale on here before. I’ve had plenty of them, just not while I’ve had this website. As our first nut brown ale, Tommyknocker Brewery’s Imperial Nut Brown Ale comes in at 9% ABV and is surely not your typical nut brown ale. I’ve had a few other brews from Tommyknocker before and I’ve enjoyed some more than others. Their Imperial Nut Brown Ale is a bigger version of their Maple Nut Brown. The label says that it is brewed with pure maple syrup. Ok, sounds interesting.

The beer pours a deep brown with a light brown head. It is crystal clear and has a plethora of smells coming from it. The nose is hops, malt sweetness, and, of course, maple syrup. There are some slightly toasty smells in there as well. When the beer warms a bit their is some heat noticeable on the nose as well.

10-05-05I was ready for a big beer on the first tasting and it delivered that feeling. It was sweet and hoppy, with some nutty undertones and alcohol. The alcohol is not a huge part of the flavor and becomes less noticeable as the beer warms and the sweetness takes over. I think that is do the the fact that it has a super sweet aftertaste. There is a bit of a hop bite, but the sweetness dominates the tail end of the flavor. It has a super big body as expected with a high alcohol beer.

The question always comes up; would I buy this beer again? I think I might. It was a decent beer that had a lot of alcohol that was well hidden and balanced. My only complaint is that it is on the sweet side and I wish the finish would be a bit more neutral. Overall a decent beer with some interesting smells. (more…)

09-15-02

Real Ale Brewing Company Full Moon Pale Rye Ale Beer Review

09-15-02I bought a sampler six pack from Real Ale Brewing Company 2 weeks ago and I’ve slowly been getting through their three offerings. On a side note, I love the idea of a sampler six pack and I wish more breweries would do something similar. Back to the beer at hand, Real Ale Brewing Company is based out of Blanco, Texas which is almost in between San Antonio and Austin. The company was started out of a basement brewery in 1996 and has since moved up to a 60 barrel brewery. There isn’t much on their website but they seem very community oriented and are willing to give away some free beer for a non-profit community event.

I am always more out to buy something from  a company that is willing to support its local community, but I digress. Full Moon Pale Rye Ale pours a nice golden amber in color and is perfectly clear. It is slightly darker than the typical pale ale but I believe that comes from the rye malt added in. It also has a nice fluffy head that, while it diminishes a bit, stays through the entire drink.  The smell of the beer is all hops with some malt sweetness but I did not detect the rye malt in there.

It taste like a typical pale ale with a slight rye flavor. You notice the rye more on the aftertaste. There is a great balance of hops to malt. I’ve seen a few reviews where people complained about too much hops but I did not find that, I thought the balance was pretty good. If they wanted the rye to stand out a bit more there should of been some less hops, but I enjoyed it on the aftertaste.

09-15-05

The mouthfeel was light and pretty thin. This was not a chewy beer. I’m not the biggest fan of pale ales (gasp!) but I enjoyed this one. The rye adds a bit of flavor that was different and nice. Now I’m going to go on a bit of a tangent. I don’t understand why rye and hops are being paired together some much right now. Michelob just released their Rye P.A. and I’ve seen a few other beers featuring hops and rye showing up on the shelves. The rye flavor is so delicate that the addition of too many hops blows it out of the water. I really enjoy a nice rye beer, just one that is not over hopped for the malt to carry through. I guess the brewers are trying to get a different malt character out of the beer but I prefer to have the rye shine a little bit more. Anyway this is a Texas beer and it doesn’t look like they distribute much further than Texas. It was enjoyable and something a bit different. If you are a pale ale fan try it out and see if you like the rye flavor on top of the typical pale ale. (more…)

08-25-03

Pete’s Wicked Ale Wanderlust Cream Ale Beer Review

08-25-02I recently got a variety pack from Pete’s Wicked Ale and in it was Wanderlust Cream Ale. I’m not a big fan of cream ales to begin with, but I tried to keep a clear head. To be fair my only other experience with a cream ale is Genesee, which, while my best man’s father loves it, I do not. Anyway, the bottle is pretty neat looking as you can see from the pictures.

I opened up the bottle and poured it out. There was a nice sweet aroma in the air which a nice fluffy head, that quickly vanished into nothing. I didn’t notice any hops or anything like that on the nose, just a pleasant sweet smell. This is just a nice looking beer. It is perfectly clear and the color of a pale ale.

08-25-03Looks don’t matter much if the taste can’t back it up. My first taste was light. There wasn’t a lot going on. There was some malt sweetness and just a hint of hop on the back end, but that was about it. I kept drinking to see if I could explore some other flavors, and the only thing I noticed as I kept drinking was a metallic taste. It was creamy, but a bit lighter than what I am used to. I guess it fits the style of beer pretty well, but as I said in the second sentence of this post, I don’t like it.

If you like cream ales, you would enjoy this beer, but that is all I would recommend it to. Click the read more link to see more pictures of the beer and the neat bottle. (more…)

09-06-04-05

River Horse Brewing Company Tripel Horse Beer Review

09-06-04-06I have recently been getting into Belgians and River Horse Brewing Company’s Tripel Horse called to me at the six pack store. First off, I love the packaging. River Horse has funky packaging that mixes some old images with new graphic design, and I just love it. All of there beer labels have something in common but are also very distinct. That aside, lets get onto the beer.

09-06-04-05This is what the brewery has to say about their beer:

Notice a unique aromatic nose with a hint of vanilla esters, which comes from the Belgian ale yeast. Tripel Horse has a big body and rich mouth feel and finishes mostly dry with only a touch of sweetness. If you shy from some of the sweeter Belgian ales, we think you will enjoy this one. The palate improves with age, so keep some on hand and you can ride Tripel Horse down a new path with each opened bottle.

This beer rocking in at 10% which is not surprising for a Tripel. Right on the nose of the beer you get the yeast spicyness and alcohol. It pours an orangy color with a little brown. My camera does not acurarlty replicate the color. The beer is hazy when help up to the light, as expected, and you can see little particles floating throughout the beer, also as expected. It pours with a minimal amount of head that lingers around the side of the glass for the whole drink.

09-06-04-04On first taste there is an explosion of flavor. The yeast spice is obvious, but there is a ton of malt and a hint of sweetness. The back end of the drink is alcohol, but it isn’t super noticeable if you aren’t looking for it. It finishes dry in your mouth and leaves you wanting more. This beer is exactly what I wanted from a Tripel, it was high in alcohol, big in flavor, and had that Belgian wonderfulness that I have been craving. A few years ago I would of hated this beer, but my pallet has grown and gotten much better.

They say to age this beer as it will change a lot over time. I bought a six pack and drank the six pack within a week or so. It was just that good.

(more…)

Shiner Bock Beer Review

I’m going to be moving to Texas this summer and I figured I should try some of the local brew to get an idea of how much homebrewing I will be needing to do. After a bit of research I found that Shiner Bock is the biggest beer down in Texas. With a little help, I was able to get a case of the stuff to give it a proper try.

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting too much. Usually the most mass produced beer in any area tends to be terrible compared to more microbrews. Shiner Bock also comes in twist offs, which didn’t give me a lot of confidence either.

I opened it up and poured it into my glass. It pours a reddish copper with great clarity (as expected in a lager) and a small head. Bocks generally are a bit undercarboninated so I wasn’t super concerned about that. Shiner Bock didn’t have too much of a smell either, it was mainly all malt (as expected with a bock).

The taste was much beer than the smell or look. It was full of malty sweetness that stayed on the tounge for a bit. I didn’t get anything in the hop field when I tried it. My biggest problem was that it was really watered down compared to a typical bock. Shiner Bock came in at 4.4% ABV where a traditional bock generally starts at 6% and goes up from there. If this is the best of Texas, I’m going to be doing a lot of homebrewing. (more…)